Is being superficial bad?

Google “superficial” and you get: “being or affecting or concerned with a surface; not deep or penetrating emotionally or intellectually; “superficial similarities”

But I wonder if that’s all a bad thing.  While reading, “The Year of Living Biblically,” Jacobs mentions after he begins wearing all white, “It’s further proof of a major theme of this year: the outer affects the inner.”

I remember how differently I treated other people and how others treated me after I forced myself to say ma’am and sir to people.  Just that little habit made me feel different about myself.

Jacobs says his wearing white made him happier, “the clothes make the man.”

I wonder if anyone else has felt this way.  If you’re reading this, please respond with a time where you’ve changed your outer self, only to find later that  your inner self changed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading

Leave a Reply

