My Favorite Food

soup.jpgI love chili.  So when I knew I was going vegetarian, I needed to find a good substitute.  I found it with Ben’s Red Mill 13 Bean soup which comes with a chili recipe.

I took out the onion and found some diced tomatoes with chili peppers in it and I also stuck it on the crock pot.  After soaking the beans overnight, I drained and resoaked the beans in the crock pot and let it cook on the low setting for 6 more hours.  Then I added the tomato sauce, chopped tomatoes and chilis, and chili powder.  It cooked for an additional 2 hours.

Quite frankly, I don’t miss the meat and I didn’t have to add tofu.  This will be a permanent recipe for me.  I added crackers and cheese to make it even better.  Best yet, after the crock pot, I was able to make 4 samples for friends an other 4 meals for me, plus my meal for that night.

I don’t think this will make my wife happy.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegetarian

2 responses to “My Favorite Food

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Recipe Central » My Favorite Food

  2. I love veggie chili! TVP from Morningstar Farms is a great addition, and always add some nice beer to the mix.

Leave a Reply

